Sarah Anne

“Grant , Lord, that I may know myself that I may know thee.”- Augustine

I am a Christ follower. I am a wife. I am a mom. I am a daughter. I am a sister. I am a friend. I am a lover of different cultures and long to experience the creativity God has displayed in the world. I want to travel. Not for myself, but to serve others. I want to make a difference and speak up for the voiceless, to care for the orphaned and feed the hungry. To shake off the American dream and to live fully by taking a hold of “your kingdom come.” I want to go… but I want to stay. God has given me a mission here and now. A mission in mothering, teaching and loving. A mission of sacrifice and service. I can’t do it on my own. I don’t. I struggle with my own perfectionism and high expectations. God gives grace. God gives peace. God gives strength.

blogchadwickandme

“I would never experience the fullness of my salvation until I expressed the fullness of my thanks every day, and eucharisteo is elemental to living the saved life.” Ann Voskamp

I want to live in the present. In the now. Giving Thanks. I want to know what it truly means to live a full, abiding life walking with God. I want to see God in the small things for what he has created and is creating. I want our home to be a place where the veil is thinner because we abide in Him. I thank God for my family, teachers, mentors, friends, pastors and the church that surrounds me with encouragement and yet another reason to be thankful. I want to be like a child- impatient and bubbling with excitement to tell Him thanks for the small and the big in life. I thank God for the ability to see through my past experiences into the strength that now shines through. I Thank Him for family. For giving me a new picture of family. I thank Him for choosing us to be a part of His redeeming story. Brokenness and all.

IMG_1739

“Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one. Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength. These commandments that I give you today are to be on your hearts. Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up. Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. Write them on the doorframes of your houses and on your gates.” Deut. 6:4-9

Active. Playful. Creative. Addie. Sophie. Ruby. Mom to 3, soon to be 4. We learn at home, together. We dance, create, explore, read, serve, love and do life, together. Our home proudly displays our young family. With toys, books, undone projects, old dishes found under beds, loads of laundry to be done and floors needing to be cleaned. I am a recovering perfectionist, who still stumbles into the guilt trap. Faith. We are in the middle of our biggest faith journey yet. Bringing home our 4th daughter- Phoebe from the Democratic Republic of the Congo. It has been 1 1/2 years on this journey and we are praying for it to be complete soon.

“Sometimes I just need to write myself into a better place of understanding.” Helen Cepero

blogjournal

I am not a writer for others. At least I have not been up to this point. I am more of a journal writer for myself. Writing seems to be a way that God brings me to a place of understanding. I share what I have learned, past and present. The ways God has and is refining me. My prayers, thanks, doubts, favorite quotes and scriptures. It has been months since I have felt God calling me to start writing for others. I still don’t see the whole picture, but as a step of faith I will write and share. You will see a glimpse of our daily lives. Homeschooling, family activities, our adoption journey, books I recommend and words that have inspired me. I am incomplete and focus almost daily on just doing the next right thing. I hope to encourage and connect with others through writing and for others to understand a bit more of who my God is and this journey He has me on.

Sarah Anne

3 thoughts on “Sarah Anne

  1. He has called you, because you have never written like this before. I could take a highlighter here and underline so many keepers…words and thought to keep close to the heart. Beautiful, friend.

  2. My wife is a beautiful woman. I knew it already, but I see it once again here. Love what you’ve written, and the way your words are painting a picture. I imagine a heart-beat monitor, and the post you’ve written here is like the rhythm that comes pulsing out….timid at first, but unapologetic. I look forward to the ways I get to know my wife as she writes to be read. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

